Social Security Disability Insurance: What Medical Conditions are Qualified?

Man on a wheelchair

The SSA or Social Security Administration refers to a blue book called the Listing of Medical Impairments. This contains certain medical conditions that can qualify an individual for supplemental security income or disability insurance from the SSA, considering that you satisfy the eligibility requirements.

Basically, if you can find the equivalent of your condition or your specific condition in the SSA’s blue book, you’ll be considered disabled and qualified to receive benefits from the SSA. If you find that your condition isn’t listed in the blue book, there’s a chance that you could still qualify under certain provisions.

What’s Included in the SSA Blue Book?

For adults 18 years old and older, qualifying medication conditions include the following:

  • Respiratory illnesses like COPD or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, cystic fibrosis, and asthma
  • Problems with speech and senses like hearing and vision loss
  • Musculoskeletal issues like bone and joint dysfunctions and back conditions
  • Digestive tract issues like IBD or inflammatory bowel disease and liver disease
  • Cardiovascular conditions like CAD or coronary artery disease or chronic heart failure
  • Blood disorders like hemophilia and sickle cell disease
  • Neurological disorders like cerebral palsy, multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, and Parkinson’s disease
  • Immune system conditions like kidney disease, rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, and AIDS/HIV
  • Mental health disorders like intellectual disability, schizophrenia, anxiety, and depression

Take note that the approved medical conditions for those younger than 18 years old is almost the same as the list for adults, with the exception of growth impairment, which only applies to children.

What About Medical Conditions That are Not in the Blue Book?

doctor looking at xray of patient

There’s a chance that you might still be eligible for disability insurance even if your specific condition isn’t listed in the Blue Book, provided that you can meet certain requirements. For instance, your condition should be an impairment that can be determined through lab and clinical testing and backed by solid clinical reports.

Determining your eligibility is admittedly confusing so it’s best that you work with a professional with experience on handling disability applications here in Utah.

Understanding the Residual Functional Capacity

When determining your disability benefits eligibility, the SSA will also take into account how your RFC or residual functional capacity is limited by your disability. This can be determined by observing the most physically demanding tasks you’re still capable of doing despite your disability.

Next, the SSA will assess your exertional level by observing the amount of weight you could still carry and lift. The SSA will likewise examine your non-exertional level, such as your ability to utilize your hands, bend or climb down, deal with mental health issues, and other environmental limitations.

The SSA will take all these into account, along with your medical history to see if you are eligible for disability insurance.

Put simply, if your condition is listed in the SSA’s blue book, then you’re automatically deemed to be eligible for disability insurance. If not, then you will need to undergo several examinations administered by an SSA examiner to figure out whether or not they can consider your specific disability qualified.

Like and Share

Contact Us

Scroll to Top